UMFM is slowly getting back to "normal" in person programming - some of our hosts are still recording at home, thanks as always for your support!

Listen Live

On-air now: Dagwood Radio 6:00pm–8:00pm

Up next: Play It Again 8:00pm–9:00pm

Program Directory

Broken Headphones

Today we speak with Leanne Betasamosake Simp­son about her lat­est album The­o­ry Of Ice. In addi­tion to being a fan­tas­tic musi­cians, Leanne is one of the most com­pelling and impor­tant Indige­nous voic­es of her gen­er­a­tion, and is the renowned author of Noop­im­ing: The Cure for White Ladies (named a best book of the year by the Globe and Mail); This Acci­dent of Being Lost (win­ner of the MacE­wan Uni­ver­si­ty Book of the Year; final­ist for the Rogers Writ­ers’ Trust Fic­tion Prize and the Tril­li­um Book Award; named a best book of the year by the Globe and Mail, the Nation­al Post, and Quill & Quire); and As We Have Always Done: Indige­nous Free­dom Through Rad­i­cal Resis­tance (award­ed Best Sub­se­quent Book by the Native Amer­i­can and Indige­nous Stud­ies Asso­ci­a­tion).

The­o­ry Of Ice is Lean­ne’s sec­ond album of music, and the fol­low-up to 2016’s f(l)ight.

Artist Song Album
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson C Surface Tension Theory Of Ice
Buffy Sainte-Marie & Tanya Tagaq C You've Got To Run (Spirit Of The Wind)
Michie Mee Willing & Abel ft. Xentury Bahdgyal's Revenge
Ingrid D. Johnson L C Rainbows
The Gumshoe Strut L C Humble Abode Styles Make Rights
Elisapie C Wolves Don't Live By The Rules ft. The Ballad of the Runaway Girl
Iskwe C Sweet Tuesday The Stars