Listen Online
Today's Music Logs
This Week's 35
Live Sessions

Thanks to the following donors for their generous support!

Lynn McLean
David Carr
Brenda Sirkkunen
Suzanne Dorais
James Borsa
Jessica Nagy
Joe Cattani
Zach LeClerc
James Borsa
Ian Restall
Leaf Rapids
Greg Macaulay
Saul Simmonds
Tom Woodward
Leah Friesen
Carla Baldwinson
"Trader" Vic Dobchuk
Tracy Martin
Kristen Jones
Caileigh Morrison
Anonymous Donor
Marvin D. Shane
Jehan Moorthy
Manitoba Handball Association
Elliott Walsh
T Nautilus
Jackie Fras
Glen Thomsen
Ryan Woods
Murray McKay
Michael Gerbrandt
Dianne Knight
Kieran Labossière
Leah McKetiak
Nicola Schaefer
Nick Exell
David Cordingley
Jill Sander
Amanda Stefaniuk
Janine Johnston
Chris Friesen
Pat Ireton
Ron Lyseng
Ray & Nancy Ullenboom
Joel Chevrefils
Stella Lowry
Peter Hughes
Christine Dobbs
Aloysius Kargbo
Corey Lefko
Megan Jensen
Justin Olynyk
Marge Stefaniuk
Lee Repko
jeff o'leary
Anais Salamon
Nathan Trethart
Virginia and Cristiano Draghi
Carol Legge
Laura Graham
Allan Moulding
Jean Doucha
Anonymous Donor
Eugene, Mike & Stu
Marc LaCasse
Steve Putz
John Prentice
Billy & Joan McKetiak
Edward Kohut
Sandy Fotty
Alister Archibald
Dan Raposo
T-Bar & Corky Wilson
Lyle Skinner
Victor Dobchuk
Charlene Skjerven
Jared McKetiak
Debbie Whitney
Connor Milligan
Shauna Stastook
Timber Wolf Tree Service
Clinton Orr
Wendy Stumpf
Allen Boychuk
Jenna Sto. Domingo
Peter McClure
Dale Kuhr
Anonymous Donor
Joe Gonzales
Emily Michaelson
Conor MacGillivray
Killbeat Music
Melissa Warden Black
Anonymous Donor
Rosemary Hnatiuk
Brian Brown
Eda Dyck
Reegan Bourgeois
Martin Keleman
Richard Nazarewich
Dawna Marie Bieniarz
Larry Ward
Nathan Lee
Helene & Jasmine Drobko
Kim Rozwadowski
Meagan Shoell
Jeremy Pelland
James Hope Howard
Robert Deans
Jay Spooner
Jaine Martin
Barb Reimer
Craig Adolphe
John Unger
Derek Booth
Roger Redwin
Jack Enns
Anonymous Donor
Darren Toth
C.B. Cramer
Glennis Frost
Wyeth Krauchi
Cassie Page
Jean-Paul Hoe
Andrea Doussis
Chuck Kotyrba
Marc Lagace
Anonymous Donor
Elizabeth Mitchell
Andrew Boychuk
Natasha Camille Photography
Cindy Shworob
Natalie Behl
Bryan Hammond
Amy Unger
Amanda Stefaniuk
Oly Backstrom
Trish Steadman & Rob Franklin
John Anderson
Marie Best
Don McGarva
Niall Harney
Jeff Robson
Cathie Edgar
Dietmar Leibecke
Arlene Wiley
Terry Friesen
Alys-Lynne + Steve West
Paul McAvoy Amy Tuck
Dr. Fred & Lois Shane
Mandi & Josh Zacharias
Kent Davies
Brian Tinley
Brian Brown
Karine Drobko
Dr. Peter Kowal
Ronald Everard
Dave Stapnyk
Alyssa Rempel
Tiago Bueno
Jeff Aquino
Jeff Bulow
Anonymous Donor
Al & Dianna Sveinson
The Famous Sandhogs
Emerson Kitson
Sheldon Birnie
Kristi Kolbauer
Maria Smerechanski
Rosemary McDowell
Andy Maurakis
Steven Ajibi
Mavis Polden
Eduard Wulf
Kane Millworks
Ryan McPherson
Marilyn & Rick Klimczak
Disraeli Dreamers
Anonymous Donor
Andre Bisseck
Basketball Manitoba
Anonymous Donor
Jeremy Ranson
Shelly Dagg
Sue Sorensen
Lisa Pezolla
Mel Stefaniuk
Lani Kotyrba
Jazz Financial
Joe Aiello
Evan Burgess
Sandy Rubinfeld
Jenn Kryschuk
Barry Kozelman
Aaron Young
Linda Thiessen
Meira Cook
Debbie Wegier
Lynne Skromeda
Curtis Masters
Tonya Amen
Jack Jonasson
Steven Champagne
Thomas Beggs & Associates
Kai Lundquist
Gavin Smith
Dawn Milligan
Christian Kingsland
Brandi Martens
Jacqueline Iwasienko
Orlando Sanchez
David Weller
Adam Kilfoyle
Eric MacLise
Elfie Whelan
Bruce Moore
Jack Heidrich
Brenlee Werner
Office Of Indigenious Achievement
Offord Family
Anonymous Donor
Neil Kraemer
Gordon Howorth
Romi Mayes
Miles Nicholson
James Korba
Octopi Research Labs (UK) Ltd
Marc Hedenstierna
Pat & Heather McAvoy
Penny Stefaniuk
Ray Alexander
Joel Rempel
Mattias Salamon
Pledge-O-Rama Kickoff!
Brett Wolfe
Jeff Robson
Nate Vandervis
Brendan McLean
Scott Price
George Christie
Jeremy Akerstream
Kevin Handkamer
Liz Magnifico
Zenon Foster
Sarah Michaelson
Marc Ouimet
Ian Morrison
Richard Hines
Tim & Jan Hawkins
Robert E. Drobko
Byron Unger
Chris Rumbol
Christina Martin
Ian Thomas
Dez Kamara
Kris Templin
Brent Miller
Sheldon Shukaliak
Dave Guenette

Upcoming Events
Click on poster for more info

Featured Partner

Sleepy Owl Bread

Offered Incentive: 10% off any loaves of bread

The Female World Sport School Challenge - Live on UMFM's Second Stream!
on March 17,2017 by michael

UMFM is proud to support our community, and we're partnering with an outstanding event that has seen several players graduated to the University of Manitoba to continue to play hockey! The Female World Sport School Challenge is an annual tournament initiated by Hockey Canada and hosted by St. Mary’s Academy in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada where top female hockey teams from Sport Schools across North America and Europe participate. The tournament, in its 5th consecutive season, is a showcase event where scouts come to prospect, and UMFM has been invited to broadcast the tournament's playoff round on Saturday and Sunday!

This year’s eight-team tournament brings together North American female hockey teams from six sport schools along with two AAA regional teams. Sport school teams participating include host St. Mary’s Academy Flames, defending champions Shattuck-St. Mary’s Sabres U-19 from Faribault, MN, Pursuit of Excellence from Kelowna, BC, Notre Dame Hounds from Wilcox, SK, Northern Alberta Xtreme from Edmonton, AB and the Minnesota Revolution from St. Paul, MN. The Thunder Bay Queens and Eastman Selects are the AAA regional teams joining the challenge this year.

“Since its inception five years ago the FWSSC has attracted a lot of attention from teams, scouts and fans. The attention is due in part to the dramatic rise in popularity of girls hockey in recent years, as well as the fact that tournament is an important venue for girls to compete in front of scouts from U-Sport (Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) and National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) post-secondary institutions,” says Larry Bumstead, Head Coach of the SMA Flames Prep team and FWSSC Steering Committee member. He goes on to say “Athletes from participating teams get scouted at this tournament and it opens doors for them to attend and play hockey at major Universities across North America.”

Girls’ hockey has been on a steady increase in Manitoba in recent years. “Female hockey represents about 10 percent of Hockey Manitoba’s player membership, that’s roughly 2500 girls playing hockey in Manitoba,” says Peter Woods, Executive Director of Hockey Manitoba. He goes on to say “Today, a five year old girl can join an all-girls Hockey Initiation Program and then join an all-girls team, and she can be on all-girls’ teams her entire playing career. A few short years ago this was not possible because the numbers were not there to form all-girls teams. The growth of female hockey in our province has been impressive and events like the FWSSC highlight the talent, as well as show younger girls what the possibilities are.”

Tickets for the tournament are available at the door of the MTS Iceplex. Tournament passes are $25 and individual game tickets are $5 (children 12 and under free). For more information about the 2017 FWSSC, visit Follow the tournament on Twitter at and on Instagram at To hear UMFM's broadcast of the tournament games, please click here!

Good luck to all eight teams!